You can delete a package from the site where it was created. However, the system cannot delete a package from a distribution point if a user has locked a network file.
When a package is deleted, Configuration Manager 2007 removes it from the database. If the package was sent to child sites, the package information at those child sites is also deleted. If a compressed version of source files for the package exists, Configuration Manager 2007 deletes that file from the site server.
|Deleting a package does not remove the package source folder, nor does it remove any programs that have already run on clients.|
Package data is also removed from the distribution points. All advertised programs linked to the package are also deleted from the Configuration Manager 2007 database and from clients.
|You must have Delete permission for the Package Security object type in order to delete a package. For more information about security permissions, see Classes and Instances for Object Security in Configuration Manager.|
To delete a package
In the Configuration Manager console, navigate to System Center Configuration Manager / Site Database / Computer Management / Software Distribution / Packages.
Right-click the package you want to delete, and then click Delete.
Use the Delete Package Wizard to assess the effects of deleting the package and to delete it.
For information about this wizard, see Delete Package Wizard.