To delete a configuration item in Configuration Manager 2007, you select it and press Delete. However, before deleting a configuration item, you should note the following consequences:
- If the configuration item has been added to a
configuration baseline, the configuration item will be
automatically removed from the configuration baseline when the
configuration item is deleted.
- If the deleted configuration item has a child
configuration item, the child configuration item will be
automatically deleted when the configuration item is deleted.
The delete action will display the Confirm Deletion dialog box. Click Show to see which configuration baselines reference the configuration item and which configuration items are parent configuration items. You can also view this information from the Relationships tab of the configuration item properties.
|You cannot delete a software updates configuration item. These configuration items display under the Software Updates node and not the Desired Configuration Management node. As such, software updates configuration items cannot be edited, deleted, or duplicated, and you cannot create child configuration items from them.|
To delete a configuration item
In the Configuration Manager console, navigate to System Center Configuration Manager / Site Database / Computer Management / Desired Configuration Management / Configuration Items.
Click the configuration item you want to delete, and then press Delete.
Click Show in the Confirm Deletion dialog box to confirm that other configuration items or configuration baselines will not be adversely affected by the deletion.
Note For information about the options in Confirm Delete dialog box, see Confirm Deletion Dialog Box.