Topic Last Updated—August 2008

BitLocker drive encryption provides low-level encryption of the contents of a disk volume. The Disable BitLocker task sequence step allows you to disable the BitLocker encryption on the current operating system drive, or on a specific drive. Disable BitLocker leaves the key protectors visible in clear text on the hard drive, but it does not decrypt the contents of the drive. Consequently this task sequence action will be completed almost instantly.

If you have multiple drives encrypted, you must disable BitLocker on any data drives before disabling BitLocker on the operating system drive.

The Disable BitLocker task sequence action runs only in a standard operating system and will not run in the Windows Preinstallation Environment (WinPE). For information about task sequence variables for this task sequence action, see Enable BitLocker Task Sequence Action Variables.

You can use BitLocker only for client computers running Windows Vista and Windows Server 2008.

This page contains the elements described in the following table.

Name Description


Specifies a short user-defined name that describes the action taken in this step.


Provides more detailed information about the action taken in this step.

Current operating system drive

Disables BitLocker on the current operating system drive.

Specific drive

Disables Bitlocker on a specific drive. Use the drop-down list to specify the drive where BitLocker should be disabled.

See Also


Enable BitLocker