Software update deployment packages in Configuration Manager 2007 can be deleted from the Deployment Packages console tree node. After the deployment package is deleted, the deployment package object is removed from the site server and all child sites, and the package shared folder and associated files are removed on the distribution points configured for the package. The deployment package source files are not deleted.
Deleting a deployment package that is used in an active deployment might result in clients being unable to install software updates in the package. A warning appears in the Package Deletion Confirmation dialog box if any deployments use one or more of the deployment packages selected for deletion. The software updates in a deployment that uses a deleted package will not be available to clients for installation unless the updates are in another package that is accessible to the client.
|The user must have Delete instance rights for the Deployment Package object to successfully delete a deployment package. For more information about setting deployment package security, see Properties - Security Tab.|
The following procedure provides the steps necessary to delete a deployment package.
To delete a deployment package
In the Configuration Manager console, navigate to System Center Configuration Manager / Site Database / Computer Management / Software Updates / Deployment Packages.
In the results pane, right-click one or more deployment packages, and then click Delete. If a warning appears in the Package Deletion Confirmation dialog box stating that existing deployments use one or more of the packages selected for deletion, the software updates in the deployment must be in another package or clients will fail to install them.
Click Yes in the dialog box to delete the deployment package.