Assigning roles and privileges

The roles assigned to users determine which features of Delegated Administration Console they can use. (For background information about this, see Understanding the Delegated Administration Console user interface.) All users are automatically given the end user role when their accounts are created in Delegated Administration Console. This role allows them to view and edit their own personal information.

To give a user broader privileges, such as to configure information for groups, organizations, and other users, you can give the user an administrator or customer service representative (CSR) role. You assign a role to a user by making them a member of the appropriate security group. Security groups and privileges are described in Understanding roles and privileges.

When you are assigning roles, you can assign only those roles that have lesser authority than your own. The level of authority is as follows, from highest to lowest:

  1. Service provider administrator
  2. Service provider CSR
  3. Reseller administrator
  4. Reseller CSR
  5. Organization administrator
  6. Organization CSR (organization CSRs do not have authority to assign roles)
  7. End user (end users do not have authority to assign roles)

For the specific procedure on assigning a role, see To assign roles. For more information about user account administration, see Working with user accounts.