Use the following procedure to remove a checkpoint when you no longer need to restore a virtual machine to its state when the checkpoint was created. The action works differently for virtual machines running on Hyper-V or VMware virtualization software than for virtual machines running on a Virtual Server.
For virtual machines running on Virtual Server hosts
The Remove action removes the selected checkpoint, and the checkpoint files are deleted, freeing disk space. All checkpoints that were created after the current checkpoint also are removed, and you can no longer restore the virtual machine to any state that was saved after the deleted checkpoint.
|For users of Virtual Machine Manager 2007, the Remove action replaces the Merge action and works identically.|
For virtual machines running on Hyper-V or VMware hosts
The Remove action removes the selected checkpoint and you can no longer restore the virtual machine to the checkpoint that you removed. No other checkpoints are removed, whether they were created before or after the checkpoint that you removed.
In Virtual Machines view, navigate to the host on which the virtual machine is deployed.
In the results pane, click the virtual machine, and then, in the Actions pane, click Manage checkpoints.
In the Available checkpoints tree, select the checkpoint that you want to remove, and then click Remove.
If the virtual machine is running on Virtual Server virtualization software, you will receive a confirmation prompt explaining that all checkpoints created after the selected checkpoint will also be removed. Click Yes to proceed.
For the most up-to-date Help information, go to the Virtual Machine Manager 2008 Help Online. To find additional Virtual Machine Manager 2008 documentation, go to the Virtual Machine Manager 2008 TechCenter Library.