Use the following procedure to restore a virtual machine—including its guest operating system, application settings, and application data files—to its state when a checkpoint was created.
|When you restore a virtual machine to a checkpoint, VMM stops the virtual machine and the user files on the virtual machine are restored to their previous state. To avoid loss of user data, if the virtual machine has been in use since the checkpoint was created, be sure to back up the data files before you restore the virtual machine. For virtual machines running on Hyper-V or VMware, you can avoid this issue by saving a new checkpoint to capture the latest user data before you restore the virtual machine. The new checkpoint will still be available after you restore the virtual machine to the previous checkpoint.|
In Virtual Machines view, navigate to the host on which the virtual machine is deployed.
In the results pane, select the virtual machine, and then, in the Actions pane, click Manage checkpoints.
In the Available checkpoints list, click the checkpoint that you want to restore the virtual machine to, and then click Restore.
|If you create checkpoints or a virtual machine that is running on a Hyper-V host, and then add a new virtual hard disk to the virtual machine, if you restore a checkpoint that was made before the virtual hard disk was added, the virtual hard disk is no longer associated with the virtual machine, but the .vhd file remains on the host and you must remove the file manually.|
For the most up-to-date Help information, go to the Virtual Machine Manager 2008 Help Online. To find additional Virtual Machine Manager 2008 documentation, go to the Virtual Machine Manager 2008 TechCenter Library.