[This is prerelease documentation and is subject to change in future releases. Blank topics are included as placeholders.]

If you remove a host in System Center Essentials 2010, you will no longer be able to use virtualization management features on the host or its virtual machines, and Essentials will manage both the host server and the virtual machines like any other Essentials-managed computer. It is recommended that you designate a new host server and migrate your existing virtual machines to the new host before removing a designated host server.

To migrate a virtual machine to a new host server

  1. In the Essentials console, click the Computers button, click Computer Groups, and then click All Windows Servers.

  2. Select a virtual machine from the list of computers, and then click Migrate to New Host from the Tasks pane.

    Important
    To migrate the virtual machine to a new host server, the new server must first be designated as a host. Before you continue, refer to the virtualization section of the System Center Essentials 2010 Operations Guide for detailed instructions on how to designate a new host server.
  3. When the Migrate Virtual Machine to New Host window appears, select the new host server for the virtual machine from the list of available hosts, and click the Migrate button.

    Warning
    The virtual machine will be stopped before it is migrated to the new host.
  4. When the Confirm Migration dialog box appears, click Yes to continue. A progress bar will be displayed while Essentials migrates the virtual machine to the new host server.

  5. Another dialog box will appear notifying you when the virtual machine has been successfully migrated to the new host server. To complete the migration, click Close. When Essentials returns you to the All Windows Servers list, the new host name will be displayed in the summary for the selected virtual machine.

To remove a host server

  1. In the Essentials console, click the Computers button, click Computer Groups, and then click All Windows Servers.

  2. In the list of servers, select the host server you want to delete, and then click Remove host in the Tasks list.

    Note
    When you remove a host server, it is removed it from the list of available hosts when you create or migrate a new virtual machine; however, any virtual machines you created will remain on the host unless they are migrated to a new host server.
  3. A dialog box will appear asking you to confirm removal of the host. Click Yes to continue. A progress bar will be displayed while Essentials removes the host. After the host has been removed, you will be returned to the list of computers.

See Also


Copyright © 2009 by Microsoft Corporation. All rights reserved.
[an error occurred while processing this directive]