Perform one of the Model Editor procedures in this topic to either add or delete a server.

When adding a server, you can apply a hardware configuration used by another server in the capacity model to easily standardize hardware in the capacity model. A hardware configuration used by another server resembles SiteName\ServerName. Once you add a server, you should connect the server to the site's LAN, and if necessary, connect the server to a SAN. You should also edit the server's role to add server components.

Deleting a server removes its network connections and server components. Because some server components are required, ensure that required components are in use in the capacity model.

For a list of other tasks you can perform with the Capacity Planner Model Editor, see Capacity Planner Model Editor.

To add a server in the Model Editor

  1. Navigate to the Site Topology view.

  2. In the Current View Actions pane, click Add a server.

  3. Enter a server name.

  4. Type or select the amount of memory that the server has.

  5. Select a computer configuration.

To delete a server in Model Editor

  1. Navigate to the Site Topology view.

  2. Click the server that you want to delete.

  3. In the Current View Actions pane, click Delete server.

To delete multiple servers in the Global Topology view of Model Editor

  1. Navigate to the Global Topology view.

  2. Click the Expand Nodes button on the toolbar.

  3. Click one of the servers that you want to delete.

  4. In the Current View Actions, click Select similar objects, or press and hold the CTRL key and then click multiple objects that you want to select.

  5. In the Current View Actions pane, click Delete servers.

To delete multiple servers in the Site Topology view of Model Editor

  1. Navigate to the Site Topology view.

  2. Click one of the servers that you want to delete.

  3. In the Current View Actions pane, click Select similar objects, or press and hold the CTRL key and then click multiple objects that you want to select.

  4. In the Current View Actions pane, click Delete servers.

See Also

[an error occurred while processing this directive]