Use one of the Model Editor procedures in this topic to add, edit, or delete client profiles. A client profile includes the number of client computers that are included in the group. The usage profile applied to the client profile describes how client applications interact with one or more server components by a network connection. In the Model Editor, a client profile appears as a green "person." For a list of other tasks you can perform with the Capacity Planner Model Editor, see Capacity Planner Model Editor.

To add a client profile in the Model Editor

  1. Navigate to the Site Topology view.

  2. In the Current View Actions pane, click Add a client profile.

  3. In the Name box, type a name for the client profile.

  4. In the Count box, enter the number of client computers that make up the client profile.

  5. In the Select usage profile list, click the client profile that best describes how client applications are used. Long profile names may appear truncated.

    You can add or modify usage profiles using the Edit Usage Profile task, if necessary. For more information, see How to Edit a Model Editor Usage Profile.

  6. In the Component list, click the component that supports the client profile.

  7. If subcomponents or service configurations are required by the component, select the appropriate subcomponent or service configuration.

  8. In the Network list, click the network that client computers connect to.

  9. In the Bandwidth list, click the bandwidth available to the client computers.

To edit a client profile in the Model Editor

  1. Navigate to the Site Topology view.

  2. Click the client profile that you want to edit.

  3. In the Current View Actions pane, click Edit client profile.

  4. In the Name box, revise the name for the client profile, if necessary.

  5. In the Count box, enter the number of client computers that make up the client profile, if necessary.

  6. In the Select usage profile list, click the client profile that best describes how client applications are used, if necessary. Long profile names may appear truncated.

    You can add or modify usage profiles using the Edit Usage Profile task, if necessary. For more information, see How to Edit a Model Editor Usage Profile.

  7. In the Component list, click the component that supports the client profile, if necessary.

  8. If subcomponent or service configurations are required by the component, select the appropriate subcomponent or service configuration, if necessary.

  9. In the Network list, click the network that client computers connect to.

  10. In the Bandwidth list, click the bandwidth available to the client computers.

To edit or delete multiple client profiles in the Global Topology view of the Model Editor

  1. Navigate to the Global Topology view.

  2. Click the Expand Nodes button on the toolbar.

  3. Click one of the client profiles that you want to edit or delete.

  4. In the Current View Actions pane, click Select similar objects, or press and hold the CTRL key and then click multiple objects that you want to select.

  5. In the Current View Actions pane, click Edit client profiles or click Delete client profiles.

  6. If you are editing, revise any information needed, as described in the To add a client profile in the Model Editor procedure.

To edit or delete multiple client profiles in the Site Topology view of the Model Editor

  1. Navigate to the Site Topology view.

  2. Click one of the client profiles that you want to edit or delete.

  3. In the Current View Actions pane, click Select similar objects, or press and hold the CTRL key and then click multiple objects that you want to select.

  4. In the Current View Actions pane, click Edit client profiles or click Delete client profiles.

  5. If you are editing, revise any information needed, as described in the To add a client profile in the Model Editor procedure.

To delete a client profile in the Model Editor

  1. Navigate to the Site Topology view.

  2. Click the client profile that you want to delete.

  3. In the Current View Actions pane, click Delete.

See Also

[an error occurred while processing this directive]