Uninstalling an Agent

Agent Managers automatically install and uninstall agents based on the requirements of computer grouping rules. Agent Managers are responsible for deploying agents on their managed computers, which are computers matching the Managed Computer rules.

You may decide, however, that an agent installed on a computer is not required. For example, the computer might match a Managed Computer rule, but you don't want an agent deployed on it. To remove the agent from the computer, or to prevent an agent from being installed on it, you have several choices.

You can exclude the computer from the Managed Computers list. The Agent Manager will not install agents on computers excluded from the list. The Agent Manager will automatically remove an agent from the computer after the specified uninstall delay. The default global setting for the uninstall delay is 48 hours. For more information, see Excluding a Computer from the Managed Computers List. For more information about specifying the uninstall delay, see Configuring Global Agent Manager Settings.

You can also manually uninstall an agent. Uninstalling an agent excludes the agent computer from the Managed Computers list and immediately removes the agent from the computer. For more information, see Uninstalling an Agent Now.

You can also remove all agents from an Agent Manager. This task is typically part of removing the product installation from an enterprise. For more information, see Uninstalling All Agents.