Use the Uninstallation Options page of the Microsoft System Center Data Protection Manager (DPM) Setup Wizard to begin uninstalling DPM. This wizard appears when you select Add or Remove Programs in Control Panel.

Note
Setup uninstalls only the DPM application. Setup does not remove DPM prerequisite software, user settings, or protection agents. You can remove these components after uninstalling DPM is complete. For information about uninstalling DPM components, in the DPM Deployment Guide, see Uninstalling DPM 2010 (http://go.microsoft.com/fwlink/?LinkId=179927).

Elements

This page contains the elements described in the following table.

Name Description

Remove data

Click to permanently remove DPM, including your existing recovery points, replicas, protection schedule, and the tape catalog.

Note
The tape catalog is removed, but the tape data still exists so that you can import and use the tapes on other DPM servers. For information about importing tapes, in the DPM Operations Guide, see Managing Tape Libraries (http://go.microsoft.com/fwlink/?LinkId=179397).

Retain disk-based recovery points

Click to retain existing recovery points after you uninstall DPM. Use this option if you plan to reinstall DPM and you want to resume your existing protection schedule, or if you want to continue accessing existing recovery points.

Important
If you plan to retain your existing data protection configuration, but do not plan to reinstall DPM immediately after uninstalling DPM is complete, protect the security of the data stored on the DPM server by disabling end-user recovery and running synchronization jobs for each of your protection groups before you start uninstalling DPM. These steps ensure that users to whom you deny access to the data on the protected server cannot access that data on the DPM server. If you have not made these preparations, consider exiting Setup and then restarting the uninstallation process after you have completed the steps.Protection jobs cannot run successfully during a reinstallation. Any jobs scheduled to run while a reinstallation is in progress will not run. Any jobs that are in progress when the reinstallation begins are cancelled. Upon completion of a reinstallation, DPM automatically attempts to perform any cancelled replica creation, synchronization, or consistency check jobs, but it does not attempt to perform cancelled recovery point creation jobs.

Cancel

Cancels the uninstall action.

[an error occurred while processing this directive]