Advanced Group Policy Management (AGPM) enables Approvers to destroy a Group Policy object (GPO), removing it from the Recycle Bin and permanently deleting it so that it can no longer be restored.
A user account with the Approver or AGPM Administrator (Full Control) role or necessary permissions in Advanced Group Policy Management is required to complete this procedure. Review the details in "Additional considerations" in this topic.
|To permanently delete a GPO so it can no longer be restored|
In the Group Policy Management Console tree, click Change Control in the forest and domain in which you want to manage GPOs.
On the Contents tab, click the Recycle Bin tab to display the deleted GPOs.
Right-click the GPO to destroy, and then click Destroy.
Click Yes to confirm that you want to permanently delete the selected GPO and all backups from the archive.
When the Progress window indicates that overall progress is complete, click Close. The GPO is removed from the Recycle Bin tab and is permanently deleted.
- By default, you must be an Approver or an AGPM Administrator
(Full Control) to perform this procedure. Specifically, you must
have List Contents and Delete GPO permissions for the